Wireless / Wi-fi

October 26, 2006 at 5:25 pm 2 comments

There’s an unstoppable increase in technology today. With a topic on wireless/Wi-fi, there is certainly a huge amount of research that is provided out there. But thinking about the availability of wireless technology from a student’s point of view is tremendous. I think that having wireless technology in our surroundings today has given us the opportunity to make use of so many gadgets that adapt to this technology. Having the availability of wireless internet connection at college and even at home is simply AWESOME ! I can’t even ask for more, because the wireless internet connection in my apartment is free as well !  (DON’T ASK ME WHERE I STAY, BECAUSE I’m NOT SHARING THAT CONNECTION!! 😛 )

I recall a time when I used to connect to the internet ONLY through a DIAL-UP modem connection. This was back in Kuwait when I was a high school student, away from all the technological advances that were arising in the US and Canada. It was such a surprise to learn about cable internet, broadband, DSL and all the rest of the fast speed internet connections that were available in North America. It was very exciting at the time .

In my research, I focused mainly on cell phones and Laptops. How these two devices give us the capability to connect with anyone, anywhere, anytime. I remember being in the Middle-East as a child and just having access to the biggest cell phone ever – Used only for receiving and making phone calls. Who would have known that with all the crazy high tech availability today… We’d be able to access the internet, check email, text message, have 3- way calling, camera the phone up, and listen to songs on it…. MAN!! I should just say that I wouldn’t be surprised if they could event add TV on those little phones. Have Rogers cable on it and watch ESPN or FOX on your cell phones. I think the technology will certainly take us there in the next 5 years or so. So is the case with laptops. There is so much information that people can learn. 

Technology will help us learn and apply these new skills in the real world, making it exciting and creating so many new jobs for us.

Nelson, B (2004) Wireless security choices. Communications News, (Vol. 41 Issue 6, p32-32). –
This was an interesting article I read about security with wireless networking today. Its funny because 50% of my friends use free wireless networking at home. 🙂 GO WI-FI !!

http://www.bw.lehigh.edu/story.asp?ID=19964. – This site talked about some etiquette that students lack due to the rise of new technology. It was pretty interesting reading this material from a students view.

 

Decima Research (April 2006) Final Report on Usage of wireless communications in Canada, Prepared for: Canadian Wireless telecommunications association (CWTA), ( p1-52), Retrieved October 1,2006 from www.decima.com/en/pdf/2006_wireless_comm_en.pdf

This source was one of the most important one that provided me with numbers and statistics about the rise in the number of cell phone users and what special features consumers prefer.

SEAN !  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PR RESEARCH Genetic Engineering

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. prclass  |  October 29, 2006 at 11:40 pm

    Nice work Sean,

    I can just imagine the difference in the available technology between Kuwait and North America. And I think we all at one time had a cell phone the size of a phone book. I am definitely happy with the technological advancement.

    I am just as blown away as you are in regards to the number of features that electronics such as mobiles and laptops can do. Goes back to Stacey’s blog on the blackberry. Now that little guy has the works.

    I was under the impression that cell phones could now show TV programs and films? Is this the case? Look into it and comment back to me if you could.

    – dustin

    Reply
  • 2. prclass  |  November 10, 2006 at 9:56 pm

    Hey Sean,
    Great blog, it was really intresting and I hardly had to edit anything.

    Monica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2006
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


