The BlackBerry

October 23, 2006 at 8:12 pm 10 comments

 

The Blackberry is a PDA that allows its users to communicate with anyone, anytime through wireless Internet access. Research in Motion (RIM) is the creator and manufacturer of the Blackberry.

People use the Blackberry for email, phone, research, and as a personal organizer. The Blackberry is a useful device in a business and for personal lifestyle, which is further discussed in the details below. However, the Blackberry does have positive and negative aspects associated with its use.

The availability of the internet anywhere anytime is the prime basis of the blackberry. Wireless Internet allows people to stay in touch with anyone, anywhere, anytime through the use of email, messaging and phone calls. Other software available for the BlackBerry includes due date manager, travel programs that let you book vacations instantly and a golf score card. As mentioned earlier, the BlackBerry is therefore useful in business and personal life.

As a business device, statistics prove that using a BlackBerry increases productivity flow. These PDA’s are cost efficient and allow you to stay in touch with your clients and employees all the time. Whereas the blackberry as a personal device allows you to book trips anytime and schedule your daily activities. Whether you are at the grocery store or soccer game you can check your emails and be reachable.

Some of the negative causes of the blackberry (AKA crackberry) are that they are very addictive and actually cause health problems such as musculoskeletal disorders. Furthermore, using the Blackberry causes people to cross the line between work and personal time.

There are positive aspects of the Blackberry as well. During the hurricane season in Florida, power lines were out and the only means of communication were Blackberry’s. These little PDA’s are also statistically proven to increase productivity flow because things can be accomplished anytime, anywhere (Hotwire, the 53-minute Campaign).

Useful, convenient, and practical: I feel that the Blackberry is a great product for business and individuals. Its wireless Internet makes it simple to communicate with clients, friends, and family. Its added software allows you to personalize your Blackberry to fit your lifestyle. Overall, I felt that Blackberries had more positives than negatives and now I want one!!!!

 

Stacey Hunter  

Links

Hotwire, The 53-minute Campaign: http://www.ipra.org/library/docs/gwa5237.htm

In this website I found negative effects about BlackBerries and comments on the ways RIM tries to clean up their reputation. This website showed statistics about how much free time people save by using a BlackBerry.

RIM, Discover Blackberry http://www.discoverblackberry.com/discoverØ

This is where I began my research on Blackberrys. This page talked about different models, software and features of the Blackberry.

RIM’S Homepage, www.rim.comØ This is the website for the company that created the Blackberry. I used this website to see how Blackberry’s were created.

(edited by Carly Anlauf)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pandemic Planning and PR. The Future of Corporate Social Responsibility & Public Relations

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. prclass  |  October 25, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    I have to agree with you Stacey about the benefits of the Blackberry. These devices are fantastic. They are small, portable and most important they let you stay connected with the world in real time.
    We have evolved into a 24 hour culture in North America where it is a necessity to be available at all times. Especially in our field. So do yourself a favour and go buy one, also buy a Pearl for your mom for Christmas! I have RIM stock… 😉

    Dustin

    Reply
  • 2. prclass  |  October 25, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    Many will agree that this device is highly useful in the business world; however, I can not wrap my head around it. I agree with Dustin that we have evolved into a ’24 hour culture’ but I still don’t see myself being part of this because I do not want to be reached 24/7. There has been a huge trend evolving in the field of Human Resources to teach employees how to balance their work and life. Coming from an HR background I feel that this balance is important, so as long as the BlackBerry can be turned off now and then I agree that it is beneficial!

    Jess D.

    Reply
  • 3. prclass  |  October 26, 2006 at 6:17 am

    I Agree with all of you guys. As we all know Stacey is one of the brightest amongst us 😛

    But I think I definitely did learn so much about blackberry’s. I’d certainly heard their name .. But now i’m glad you threw out information at us about this awesome device Stace. Hey you guys .. why dont you guys all throw in $50 each… So i can buy me a Blackberry 😉 Have a good weekend folks…

    SEAN

    Reply
  • 4. prclass  |  October 26, 2006 at 6:50 pm

    Not only is the Blackberry itself phenomenal, but the founders of RIM are pure geniuses. My father and I were talking about RIM on the weekend and he said my uncle (a genius himself- electrical engineer) always said what this country needs is just one guy like Bill Gates. The spin off effect of RIM’s ingenuity is tremendous. The jobs they will generate and the investment in the Canadian braintrust is fantastic. Kudos to them for staying in Canada (so far). Darlene.

    Reply
  • 5. prclass  |  October 26, 2006 at 10:11 pm

    I have to agree with everyone on Blackberry’s. We have gone through so many different technology in the last 20 years and the Blackberry seems to be the most beneficial to everyone. You can literally do anything with them and although I hope I’m not the kind of PR practitioner that won’t be able to leave for vacation without thinking about my work but the fact that you can take it with you almost anywhere, have reception and be able to connect with whoever you left behind is amazing. I look forward to being able to purchase my first Blackberry!
    Rebecca

    Reply
  • 6. prclass  |  October 29, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    Darlene it’s such a coincidence that you say that because my buddy and i were talking about how fantastic it is to have a company like RIM in Canada. Not only does it generate thousands of jobs but it also makes the world recognize Canada as a leader in electronic intellegence.

    I was extremely worried when RIM was going through that legal battle with the U.S. company over the rights of the patent. My buddy and I argued that the U.S. has Microsoft so it should P.O. and leave the Blackberry to Canada.

    Reply
  • 7. prclass  |  October 29, 2006 at 8:53 pm

    Please leave your name with your comment. Is it Adam? Dustin?

    Anyhow, I believe they are committed to staying in Canada. Now that the huge lawsuit is over they will surge ahead for sure. I can’t believe how many times I have heard people talking about the Pearl! I’d love to get a look at their PR Department. I’m sure they run off their feet. Darlene.

    Reply
  • 8. prclass  |  October 30, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    It was me, Dustin.

    Reply
  • 9. Jamie Gill  |  October 31, 2006 at 9:51 pm

    In regards to the Blackberry,

    STACEY- GREAT POSTING! Your information was understandable and it is obvious you researched it well.

    YOur points on the blackberry, more businesses are relying on it, for planning their days, Internet, meetings, etc… I 100 percent agree with that, it is a useful took in business. From your post it seems that more and more people in any communications or technology industry will have one in the future?
    What are your thoughts on this Stacey?

    Furthermore, I also agree 100 percent, with the point you made that with a blackberry you can be reached almost everywhhere, since it is a portable device, so to me it presents privacy concerns. Blackberry’s are good, however if I had one I would somehow “censor” when I get information.
    Stacey, would you care to comment on this, I would like to hear more from you?

    Jamie Gill

    Reply
  • 10. prclass  |  November 12, 2006 at 5:32 pm

    I’ve given u a thunbs up on this good work earlier. It was good information and u definitely put it together.I made some tiny grammer and sentence changes here and there.

    But other than that I give u 5 stars and two thumbs up !
    SEAN

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2006
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


